Rum Butter Cookies

I felt like baking something today after the dreary, cold, wet day we’ve had here. I found a recipe that sounded good, but I didn’t have half the ingredients it called for!(Don’t you hate when that happens?) I decided to take that recipe & adapt it to what I did have. These are a cakey type cookie. I actually only baked about 6 of them…otherwise I’d eat them all! The rest of the dough I froze for Ryan to bake while he’s down there.

Rum Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp rum extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Start off by creaming the butter & brown sugar in a bowl until well mixed.

Next stir in your egg.

Once your egg is fully mixed in, add in the milk & rum extract.

Slowly mix in the flour until a batter has been formed.

Stir in your baking soda & salt.

Bake for 10-12 minutes at 375* or until firm to the touch.

I decided to go ahead and mix up a simple glaze(powdered sugar & enough milk to make it a thin glaze) but you can absolutely eat these just as they are.

Leave a Reply

