Dinosaur Planters

My husband occasionally complains that I have to many house plants. This is probably true seeing as though I have run out of places to put them! I am always on the search for more unique planters & pots. When I saw these dino planters on a website I knew that I had to try making them! I had a tough time finding hollow plastic dinosaurs for sale in my small town but our Walmart finally got a shipment of them in. I got two of them for $1 each. I knew I didn’t have any plants small enough at the time to fit into the dinosaurs so I also bought a small $4 pot of ivy. Once I got home, the fun began!

Use a sharp knife to cut out the back of the dino. I didn’t have the best luck cutting them very even but that’s okay, they are still cute.

If you are a perfectionist, you can take a piece of sandpaper and smooth the cut edges.

The plastic was a lighter tanish white color so in an effort to make it blend in more, I colored the edges with a black sharpie.

Use the knife to cut a drainage hole in the belly of the dino.

Stuff the legs & tail with potting soil.

Carefully insert your plant into the back and tightly pack soil around.

Place in proper sunlight for your plant & water as recommended. The first time you water it, the water will probably run over the sides of the dino so just make sure you water on a counter or other surface that won’t be ruined by the water.

Now I want to go back to the store and buy the elephants, zebras, polar bear, & lion to make planters out of them too!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

