Salmon Cakes with Homemade Cocktail Sauce

So this was SUPPOSED to be published yesterday with the auto publisher…however apparently I am not smart enough to make it work lol. I do not have a post today due to the fact that I just arrived home from having my gallbladder removed. It wasn’t the most fun in the world but was certainly better than I expected! I had a great group of nurses. Apparently while in recovery the first two things I asked were “Where am I?” and “When can I ride my horse?”. This just made me want to laugh(couldn’t ACTUALLY laugh because it hurts). Anyway, here is yesterdays salmon cakes. My very first 100% original recipe!!!

Salmon Cakes with Home Made Cocktail Sauce

For the cakes:

  • 2 cans boneless, skinless salmon(drained)
  • 2 tbs cornmeal
  • 2 tbs flour
  • 1 tbs wheat germ
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp seafood herb mix(if you can’t buy a pre-made mix, you can make your own out of basil, dill, parsley, chives, & thyme.)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • Shredded cheese(optional)

For the sauce:

  • 2 tbs ketchup
  • 1 tsp horseradish sauce
  • 1/2 tsp prepared horseradish

Preheat a skillet to med-high with a small amount of oil or a quick spray of non-stick cooking spray.

Start by draining your salmon & setting in a bowl

Add in the cornmeal, flour, wheat germ, herbs & garlic/onion powder. If you are adding cheese in, now is the time to do it.

Add in the egg & mix thoroughly using your hands.

The mixture should be wet and easily molded into cakes. I made mine about 2″ across but you can make them larger.  The 2″ ones are a perfect appetizer size. Set cakes on the skillet or griddle.

Cook on one side until they begin to brown. Flip and allow the other side to brown as well.

Remove from heat once nicely browned & serve warm.

Now onto the cocktail sauce…

VERY simple to make-

Add all 3 ingredients in a bowl.

Mix Well…and you are done :-)

I love the recipe. Maybe because was so proud to be able to go from not cooking at all to make a recipe from scratch, but I still love these!

Leave a Reply

