Garlic Kale Chips

I don’t know that I have EVER considered kale an edible food, then again I’ve never been a huge vegetable fan. The only time I had ever seen it used for anything was as a garnish. I had seen recipes floating around for various “vegetable chips” and in an effort to eat healthier, decided to give them a shot. We live in a VERY small town and I had to go to 3 different grocery stores before I found kale. I almost backed out completely but the whole huge bundle of kale was only $.98(can’t be that popular) so I bit the bullet and brought it home. The first batch I made were NASTY! I overcooked them and they were like charcoal. I really had to talk myself into trying it again but I’m glad I did because they actually aren’t too bad. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to run out and stock up but they were a good occasional way to get some variety in my vegetable consumption. I’m sure there are those of you who love vegetables…far more than I do…and you’ll probably love this recipe :-) The original recipe that I used came from here.

Garlic Kale Chips

  • Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic Powder

Preheat your oven to 375*

Wash & dry your kale and spread out on a cookie sheet.

Brush both sides with olive oil & sprinkle garlic powder & salt(or just garlic salt if you want the easy way) over the kale.

Place in the oven and bake for several minutes. The kale should still be green but crispy. I would say about 5-15 minutes depending on your oven. The original recipe said 10-15 minutes and the first batch I made were burnt by 7 minutes. It just depends on the oven. If you have an oven that is older than you are(like I do), they will probably cook faster.

This is going to make me sound like a horrible blogger…but I don’t have any pictures of the final product…I’m SORRY! Maverick woke up from his nap just as I pulled them out of the oven and immediately went into a full blown screaming, red in the face, can’t breathe kind of fit. While trying to calm him down, I managed to eat the kale chips and totally forgot I still needed to take a picture…opps! I have a picture of the burnt ones…so I can show you what they SHOULDN’T look like… yours should be much greener than these.

Feel free to share a better photo of what they are SUPPOSED to look like if you happen to try these :-)

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mylochick
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 20:56:20

    I love kale, but I’m pretty unoriginal in the way I cook it. I’ll definitely give these a go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

