Spinach Minestrone Soup

I have wanted to share this recipe with ya’ll for awhile now, I just hadn’t been shopping to go buy spinach…whoops! I finally went shopping the other day so I remembered to pick some up :-) This was one of the very first soup recipes I tried to make after I started learning to cook. The fact that I still make it to this day just proves that it is VERY forgiving and simple to make…now if I could just find a bread stick recipe that we both liked(no luck yet).

Spinach Minestrone Soup

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth if you like less liquid, 8 cups if you like lots of liquid. (These photos were taken with a soup made with 4 cups of  broth)
  • 1 can(16oz) kidney beans, rinsed & drained
  • 1 can(14.5oz) diced tomatoes
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 cup uncooked elbow macaroni
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 package(10oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed

To start off you want to add some oil to a skillet & allow it to heat up. I let it heat up while I am chopping up my onion. I prefer olive oil for sautéing but you can use any mild flavor oil or butter you choose.

Next you want to add your onion & garlic to the pan & sauté until they are translucent & starting to brown. Some people will sauté longer or shorter amount of times depending on if you like your onions crunchy or squishy. I love the flavor of onion but I CANNOT stand the crunch, so I always cook mine a little longer. As for the garlic, feel free to use fresh garlic cloves if you have them, but I prefer the minced garlic in the jars. They take so much less time & add just as much flavor as fresh(at least in my humble opinion). If using the garlic from a jar, I always figure a tsp per clove of garlic that the recipe calls for.

While your onions & garlic are sautéing, go ahead and get your pot ready to go. Add your chicken broth, beans, tomatoes, carrots, macaroni & oregano(in other words, everything except the spinach). I always stick my pot on another burner & get the liquids warming up while the onions are cooking, It just saves time.

Once your onions & garlic are cooked to your liking, add them to the pot and allow to cook until the carrots & macaroni are tender(another time saving trick…the thinner you slice the carrots, the faster they cook!).

Once the carrots & macaroni are done, add the spinach and mix in thoroughly. Allow the soup to sit 5-10 minutes before serving.

Serve with bread sticks & Parmesan cheese.

This soup has become a staple at my house, and hopefully it will at yours too!

Also, for those of you who have been following my surgery saga, I had my consult with the surgeon this afternoon. I am scheduled to go in Feb 16th. I should only be in the hospital about 6 hours but I’m still not looking forward to it. I will probably be taking a few days off from blogging to heal up some before trying to get back to a normal routine…although I don’t know how much down time I’ll get still trying to care for Maverick. Oh well :-)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carol long
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 16:23:54

    Wanted this soup for long time. Mother cooked all the time. She died in 1977.
    All restaurants make it like a pot of vegetable soup. Mother cooked in a truck stop
    and cooked for 11 kids at home. New a thing or two about cooking .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

