Texas Roadhouse Rolls & Cinnamon Butter

I have only been to Texas Roadhouse twice in my life, so I’m not super bias…but I thought they had pretty good rolls. When I found this recipe here, I had to give it a shot. To me they didn’t taste exactly like the rolls from Texas Roadhouse, but they were good enough that I would absolutely use them for any dinner. The reviews on the original recipe came from were split down the middle as to if they actually tasted like the Texas Roadhouse rolls. There is only one way for you to know for sure though…go bake!

Texas Roadhouse Rolls

  • 3 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 (1/4 oz. each) packages active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 T. sugar
  • 1 c. milk + 1/4 c. water, warmed
  • 1 large egg slightly beaten
  • 1/4 c. butter + 2 T butter, melted

Start by adding 2 cups of flour, yeast, salt & sugar into a large bowl.

Mix the milk & water with the egg & stir well.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the milk mixture to it(note this photo is only a little bit of the milk, just so you can see it…it will be a lot more milk that when you dump it all in.)

Mix by hand for about 150 strokes(seems like a lot but it goes by a lot faster than you’d expect!)

Add the 1/4 c. melted butter and stir in well.

Add the last cup of flour into the mixture, one 1/3 c. at a time, stirring well after each addition.

Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a warm location for 1 hour or until doubled in bulk.

Using two greased spoons, punch down the batter. It is very sticky at this point!

Using the spoons, place the dough into very well greased muffin tins & brush with 1 tbs of melted butter.

Let the dough rise an additional 30 mintues. Place into a preheated 400* oven and bake for 16-18 minutes.

Spread with butter & enjoy!

I didn’t get the chance to make the cinnamon butter that goes along with it because Maverick was being fussy but I’ll give you the recipe so you can make it yourself & tell me how it is!

Cinnamon Butter

  • 1 stick butter
  • 4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. white sugar

Beat ingredients together until smooth. Cover and refrigerate.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwen M
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 13:58:29

    I will definitely give these a try. I have my grandmothers potato roll recipe and I love to make them, I do it just like her recipe says but they stil never taste like hers did!! Even when she was alive and helped me make them the first couple of times I never thought mine tasted like hers. I still tell my kids & family that it just doesn’t taste like hers and all they tell is to keep practicing and they will eat them!!!! I have come to the conclusion that some things jus taste better when someone else makes them!!!

    Reply

  2. Gwen M
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 14:19:31

    I also went here where you found the recipe and was really interested in the comments that had to do with the cinnamon butter. I also was a little concerned about 4 tsp of cinnamon for one stick of butter, and the amount of sugar & brown sugar. I liked the comment from the one person that said to use powdered sugar, I was thinking maybe to use honey with the butter and cinnamon, as it is a more natural sweetner. I think I will start with maybe a teaspoon of cinnamon and if it isn’t enough I would add more, but to me 4 tsp of cinnamon to just one stick sounds like alot.

    Reply

  3. G Whittaker
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 18:46:57

    I’m interested to try making these.. since everyone raves about Texas Roadhouse and our family can’t go there. Thanks for sharing!

    @Gwen… things always taste better when Grandma makes them!

    Reply

  4. Ali
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 14:25:39

    I haven’t made these yet but they don’t look AT ALL like the way Texas Roadhouse rolls are here in Texas. First, they aren’t made in muffin tins. Second, they are very fluffy, soft, light, yeasty square/rectangle rolls. These look to be more dense and sort of like a biscuit. Not sure if the Texas Roadhouse chain makes rolls different in different regions but here, in Texas, they are not at all like that! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

