Microwave Popcorn – Stop buying it, make it yourself!

What good is a movie night with loved ones without popcorn? A few months ago I was really craving popcorn to go along with the movie Ryan & I had just sat down to watch but much to my disappointment we didn’t have any microwave popcorn left. Thank goodness for google! I managed to find a method that seemed simple enough but I was still rather skeptical. I don’t really trust anything that’s made in the microwave(ever tried one of those 5 minute cakes/brownies in a mug…yeah, I filled my entire house with smoke & almost caught my microwave on fire trying to make one of those) so I was a little concerned how well home-made popcorn would go over.

Any way, I gathered up the ingredients, stuck it in the microwave and prayed for the best. To my surprise, not only did I end up with popcorn…it was GOOD popcorn! I have so rarely had plain old healthy popcorn that wasn’t coated in a nasty buttery, slimy yellow goop that the taste of just the popcorn was great. I have sworn to never buy microwave popcorn again.

Give it a shot, this version is so much healthier for you & your family(plus, if you eat a lot of popcorn you will save money!)

Brown Bag Microwave Popcorn

Ingredients & Supplies:

  • 1/4 cup plain popcorn kernels(makes enough for 1 serving)
  • brown paper bag(the lunch sized ones)
  • olive oil(or any other oil)
  • salt

To start off, place the kernels in the brown paper bag. I wouldn’t recommend making more than 1/4 c. at a time because unless you have a really tall microwave, the popped kernels won’t have anywhere to go once the bag is full.

Drizzle a small amount of oil in the paper bag & shake well to coat all the kernels. You may also want to add a little salt at this point too.

Fold the top of the bag over and place in the microwave. Some how-to guides recommend stapling the bag shut but to me putting metal in a microwave just seems like a bad idea. I have always just folded the top over and have never had a problem with popcorn falling out.

This method tends to take a little longer to pop than the store bought microwave popcorn. I used to put the store bought on for about 2:30 minutes, but the home-made I usually put on for about 4 minutes. You need to stick by the microwave and be sure to take out the bag when the pops start to slow down, if not you will end up with charcoal popcorn. Be careful when handling the bag because the oil on the bottom of the bag can get hot!

Pour the popcorn into a bowl and drizzle with a little more oil(or butter if you prefer) and toss to evenly coat. Add salt or any other popcorn seasoning you prefer.

Sit down in front of the TV and enjoy your movie :)

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karleen Hayden
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 16:12:02

    Oooooohhhhhh……Gonna try this! Great idea!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

