For all you dog people

I forgot to mention on Saturday that I will not be writing a post on Sundays. Sundays are my day for family time with Ryan & Maverick and I have made a goal to try and stay away from my computer as much as possible so that they have my undivided attention.

And now for something completely different…

I wanted to do a post on something other than food related but couldn’t come up with anything. While watching Creek outside playing with a stick this morning, I thought of showing everyone how to make super easy & cheap dog toys. The nice thing about these ones are so simple to make & take about 10 minutes from start to finish. I hope your dogs enjoy these as much as mine do!

Stretchy Rope Dog Toys

Supplies Needed:

  • An old t-shirt(several if you want multicolored toys)
  • Scissors

To start off with, choose a t-shirt that you probably have sitting in your closet that you never wear. I found mine in a box in the back of the closet. I have no idea how I ended up with a 3xl shirt when I only wear a size large, so this was the perfect excuse to get it out of my closet.

Cut the t-shirt into twenty 1″ wide strips. I made mine as long as I could with the fabric I had due to the fact that there is often three dogs hanging off the same toy. Don’t worry about cutting nice neat lines, the dogs won’t care!

Next line up all the ends so they are the same length and tie a knot in one end. Make sure you pull the knot tight.

Divide the long pieces into two strands and twist around. Tie a second knot at the other end & trim the tail pieces if they are to long.

And you are done! Pretty easy huh? If you have a small breed dog, you can just shrink the whole project and only cut ten 1/2″ strips.

My dogs love these and they are a whole lot cheaper than store bought toys. And of course what good would instructions be without seeing the final product in action? For those of you who aren’t familiar with my dogs, the Australian Shepard is Gryphon, the Corgi is Rufas, & the German Shorthair Pointer is Creek.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. G Whittaker
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 11:31:30

    Sadly we can’t have a dog, but I thought this craft was a great idea! I shared a link to this post on fb for my canine lover friends! Also totally considering that my daughter could do a Girl Scout project making these for the local shelter! :) Awesome post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

