The first one!

Today has been another exciting day for us! Ryan called today to let me know that one of our heifers had calved. Of course as soon as I heard the good news I began bombarding him with questions – Heifer or bull? What color? Is it up & nursing yet? What number did it come from?

I was disappointed to find out that he hadn’t actually seen it yet, he had just been told by the other ranch hand who feeds the cattle that he had seen one of our heifers with a calf up & nursing.

Ryan had to run down to town to get a tire fixed on the pickup after work so he stopped at the house to switch vehicles & grabbed my camera so he could stop by the ranch on the way home and get a couple of pictures. I actually forced myself to clean & make another batch of applesauce so I could distract myself from watching the clock while waiting for him to get back. All I wanted to do was see the pictures!

He finally got home about 10 minutes ago and I have already flipped through the pictures about 100 times already. I can’t believe we finally have a calf! It is a heifer, which thrills me but Ryan was hoping for all bull calves this year so when we sell them in the fall we could make a little more(hopefully). We aren’t in a position yet to begin retaining heifers to build our herd and steers tend to sell better at the sale barn. She is TINY! We bred for a low birth weight and she certainly is low weight, the bull did exactly what they said he would do!

And now, what everyone really wants to see…pictures! Who can resist the cuteness of a newborn calf!?

Ain't she cute!!!

I've already been told I can't name her :-(

She's TINY!

Momma #103(aka Dakota) She's the white one. The black ones belong to the ranch.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. G Whittaker
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 13:06:14

    Glad to see the first 4 legged baby blessing to your family! Congrats! She is super cute! Hope she stays healthy, and look forward to hearing more calving news!

    Reply

  2. Terah
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 22:25:05

    Congrats! Xoxo

    Reply

  3. Terah
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 22:25:05

    Congrats! Xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

