First Post Woohoo!

Ah the beloved first post. I suppose in theory the first post of a new blog is supposed to elude to the direction the blog is supposed to take, but who can know for sure where they are going with only post number one? I have plans in my head for where I would like the Kansas Happy Homemaker to go, but only time will tell if they succeed.

The overall goal is for this blog to be one that is updated several times a week with recipes, gardening things, arts & craft projects, or other things going on in my life. I hope it can be somewhat informational and help people realize that being a homemaker, house wife, stay at home mom – whatever you want to call it, is not a bad thing. It’s not a real glamorous job, but it is the funnest job you will ever have.

A little background on myself. I NEVER pictured myself being a homemaker. I had grand plans for my career back in NY where I grew up. Before my husband & I got married in 2009 it took a lot of prayer to decide where to live. After much denial & dislike, I came to the conclusion that God wanted me to move to Kansas where my husband grew up – Kansas, the ONLY place I have EVER said “I NEVER want to live there!” God has a sense of humor, that’s for sure! When I got married, I did not even know how to make pancakes and doing the laundry was a daunting task. I tried working when we first moved to Kansas, but having to commute 45 minutes one way to work(we live in a VERY rural area) ate up more funds than I was bringing in. After several weeks of discussion, we decided that I would become a homemaker for the time being & see how it went. That was two years ago, and after much trial & error not only is housework & laundry not a daunting task…I can COOK as well! It’s all learned skills, ones that many women today do not grow up learning which makes it difficult when they get married.

Our first son was born Dec 14th 2011 and it has been a major learning curve trying to figure out now how to get everything done with an infant around. It can be tough but I absolutely would not have it any other way. He & my husband are the best things that have ever happened to me. I never would have imagined that after searching so hard all over the world for my “dream job” it would have been found on a little farm in the middle of nowhere.

I hope you enjoy this blog & decide to stick around!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bert
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 01:09:32

    Looks like living John 10:10 !

    Doing good Young’ns.

    Reply

  2. G Whittaker
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 09:18:46

    SO glad that you started this project. I agree that these are skills that simply aren’t taught any more to a lot of people, and should be! In my opinion, all children should learn skills for washing, cleaning, cooking, mending, etc so that they can rely on themselves and not be dependent on someone else to care for them as an adult. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

