Easy Seed Trays

I am very frugal. Okay frugal is the wrong word, I am just downright cheap. I have to be, but that doesn’t mean I have to use second best of everything. This spring while getting ready to get my garden started, every time my mom called she told me that I “need to go buy some seed trays!” Problem is, they are expensive out here!

Trays I never buy.

After some careful consideration I made of list of what the trays needed to do.

  • Retain Moisture
  • Warm(greenhouse like)
  • Keep animals our(In my house the cats like to climb in the trays…)

As I was walking down the cooking aisle, I saw some pans with clear lids. My brain said “Ah ha!” and into my cart they went. I purchased 3 trays for $1.79

When I got home, I pulled out some pepper seeds that I had been waiting to start and got them planted in the trays. The trays were a little wobbly when picked up while full so they probably wouldn’t work super well if you wanted to plant a long tray of seeds but the little ones were fine as soon as I put them on the shelf. The plastic lids snap on and *bang* instant seed tray.

I watered the seeds well when I first planted them and then didn’t touch them again for several days. I was curious to see how well they would grow in these trays.

Very quickly I began to see many little green seedlings popping out. They are growing great now and almost ready to go into the garden.

Don’t feel obligated to buy the majorly expensive stuff! Use your imagination and you can find all sorts of inexpensive shortcuts!

 

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Haley
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 16:10:21

    Great idea! It’s like a mini greenhouse!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

