Amazing Baked Parm Zucchini Sticks

First off, I want to apologize for not getting a post up yesterday. I went in yesterday for my 6 week postpartum checkup and found out that I need to go back tomorrow for a sonogram to find out the cause of some pretty bad chest/back pain I’ve been having since about my 3rd trimester. Hopefully it’s nothing serious but with that news I was more than a little distracted & didn’t get the chance to get this typed up. I’m sure no one missed me or anything :-P

Today’s post, that was actually supposed to be yesterday’s post is one of those recipes that I had seen but never thought I would like. I’ve never been a huge squash fan but have been trying to eat more of it(and other vegetables) & less of the not-so-healthy foods. This recipe though turned out great! It is defiantly one that will be sticking around my household for a long time to come…

Original recipe here

Parmesan Zucchini Sticks

  • 1 large zucchini, quartered & cut into strips
  • 1/3 cup seasoned breadcrumbs(I didn’t have seasoned so I added garlic powder, onion powder, basil & oregano)
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Slice up your zucchini if you haven’t already.

In a bowl, combine bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, salt & pepper.

Dip zucchini strips into egg and then into bread crumb mixture. Fully coat each zucchini strip.

Place the strips on a baking sheet coated with nonstick cooking spray.


Bake at 450 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown and tender. SERVE WARM! They get kind of nasty once they get cold.

We served these with just ranch or blu cheese dressing, but on the original recipe’s website they had a parm dip to go along with it if you’d like to try that too.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ceislin
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 14:05:40

    I am definitely going to try these out! My mouth is watering thinking about it!

    http://cchicc3.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. G Whittaker
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 18:40:39

    This sounds tasty. Ohhh, and you should try zucchini fritters. You slice the zucchini and dip it in prepared pancake mix, then throw it on the griddle just like pancakes. Yum! We’re boring though, and usually just eat it steamed. lol :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

